space pistol

I wanted to build a space sci fi type pistol by modifying store bought guns. So, I went to the thrift store and found these two plastic guns.

two thrift store pistols

two thrift store pistols

They were a few dollars each.

3 dollars

3 dollars

I cut them apart using a dremel tool and a scroll saw.

handle

handle

I cut off the old handle of the black pistol and cut the orange handle to fit.

I also cut off the top of the orange pistol and cemented it to the top.

top added

top added

I used two part epoxy cement to attach the parts, and auto body filler (Bondo) to patch the seams. I sanded the bondo with the dremel tool. Once it was pretty well done, I primed the whole thing with red primer then black spray paint.

primed

primed

Then with a brush, I painted each section. I kept my palette to four colors.

finished

finished

Go ahead, board the space cruiser and blast away your enemies, have some fun.

Leave a comment