miniature castle part 8 I think

I added another tower on the side of the cliff.

tower

tower

It is just wood pieces. It was installed then patched with caulking where it joined the cliff face.

Let’s take a little side trip here for a moment. Here is a little tip for you. You can make natural rock textures in styrofoam with a heat source, either torch or heat gun. Here is the brand new piece.

new foam

new foam

Now watch as I carefully wave over the surface with a micro butane torch.

torch

torch

The foam melts and leaves a pretty rough rock like texture. Go slow because the foam is very quick to react. Don’t breathe in these fumes because they are bad, not the smell, but probably not good to breathe in.

final texture

final texture

The above image is what it looks with just the torch. It really takes away the flat styrofoam feel and look. This a great technique, just go slow, and be safe. Don’t catch things on fire, and beware the fumes.

Here is another little note for you. Things don’t have to be perfect for you to create. You don’t need the perfect tools, or perfect parts, or perfect work station. The image below is my paint palette. It is a piece of scrap plasticard. The paint is some craft paint that I found on sale for less than a dollar each.

perfect

perfect

I have met artists before that require everything to be perfect for them to create. I think to this day they are still waiting.

Anyway, back to the project. Did I ever mention that I have a sun? Yes, I place tape on the wall so I know where the sun is in relation to my set. That way, I always know where to paint the highlights and shadows.

the sun

the sun

highlights

highlights

That is another round of lighter gray paint on the highlight areas.

Go ahead, be perfect, and wait forever, or just get messy and get some art created.

Leave a Reply

