miniature castle part 3

Now I began adding styrofoam.

first piece

first piece

Styrofoam can be bought at the home stores for pretty cheap. A big sheet about 1″ thick is around $20 or so. It is nice and clean and flat, and I will have to go get some before this project is over, but for now I am using up some of my old scraps. It is very easy to glue up a big chunk of thick styrofoam and just carve your mountain out of it, if you have the foam available. If you don’t, then you can use my method above. Make a sturdy under frame, and attach small scrap pieces of foam that you find free in the trash.

slowly building a cliff

slowly building a cliff

With three scrap pieces, I have the beginnings of my cliff wall. There will be multiple layers to this and multiple depths. Right now you are trying to just bulk out the major forms.

Let look under the bridge arches. There was only two pieces of thin wood sticking down from the top to form the arches. This left a large hole between the front piece and the back piece. To fill this, I bent some cardboard, and glued it in place.

under the bridge

under the bridge

rocks

rocks

I began adding some foam around the bridge uprights for the rocks. I put a piece of cardboard down on the work bench top so I could build my river bed on it without damaging the work bench top. The rectangle piece of foam in the lower center is probably where the stream will water fall off the front edge of the bench.

When I ran out of foam, I began working on the tower that is on the bridge. Three solid pieces of pine 3/4″ thick each, were cut out, and glued together. This will sit in the middle of the bridge.

bridge tower

bridge tower

I added a few more rock pieces of foam to the bridge supports.

more rocks

more rocks

Go get a sandwich while I run to the store for more foam.

One response to “miniature castle part 3

  1. Alicia DR Hankins

    Whew! What a lot of progress! Great job! Cant wait to see it at the painting stage. How will it all change?

    Like

Leave a Reply

