miniature castle set part 2

Keep adding wooden structure pieces to get your castle off the ground.

castle foundation

castle foundation

This will be the castle foundation. I also want some wood bracing in place to give me something to attach my styrofoam to later.

plenty of room

plenty of room

This height will give me room for the bridge and rock work. The stream under the bridge will be at the level of the work bench.

better view

better view

So, the castle is on the far left, with all this space on the right for the bridge.

the bridge

the bridge

Here is the first images of the bridge going in place. I have made bridges before out of styrofoam or paper mache and they are always delicate, and wobbly and hard to work with. So, this time I made the base structure really solid with wood and glue and screws. I have a wood shop so this is an option for me. This project will be a constant back and forth between ugly structure, and delicate detail.

bridge in place

bridge in place

For the under neath arches, I cut a 3/4″ piece of pine to shape. I cut four pieces like this and attached them to the underside of the bridge road. This left a hole in the middle that I will fill later.

both sides

both sides

Here is the basic shape completed. I will build up the rocks later.

Adding walls

Adding walls

After the towers were glued in place, I began adding walls between them. I put some of the towers at different heights. You will notice the different wall heights.

styrofoam brace

styrofoam brace

That angled piece of wood is a brace to support the styrofoam rock work later. I kept adding wood to make it sturdy. You could have also just used a huge solid block of styrofoam for all of this and skipped all the wood work, but I didn’t have a huge block of solid styrofoam.

last shot

last shot

This is the last shot before I begin adding styrofoam. I needed to see how the styrofoam was going to look so I needed to begin adding some.

Go ahead, make a castle, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

