Elven long blade

So, we need a hero, an elf type guy that lives near the sea. He uses a long knife. Go.

So, I began with an aluminum bar. I drew out the design on blue tape so I could see the marks.

blue tape

blue tape

I used a dremel tool to engrave the design.

dremel tool

dremel tool

Use your safety goggles boys and girls, there will be a lot of fine metal dust.

I used a circular engraving bit. They sell them right beside the dremel tools in the hardware store.

bit

bit

I carved/engraved right through the tape. Once I was done, I peeled off the tape, and did any touch ups. I cut the blade shape out with a jigsaw and a metal blade.

carved right through the tape

carved right through the tape

close up

close up

There is a close up view of the engraving.

I spray painted the blade black, then sanded it off, leaving the engraved part black.

painted

painted

I glued two pieces of wood onto the handle, and did a ton of sanding. Once it was completed, I applied an oil finish to the wood.

finished

finished

There is the finished project. Let me see if I can find a photo that shows off the engraving better.

engraving

engraving

elven

elven

Let’s tell the project manager something like “the wave design represents to the Elf the homeland where he grew up, and the ocean will always be a part of his soul, and the waves on the blade will remind him to always remember home and the fellow elves that were lost when the Kraken came ashore”.

Perfect.

Go ahead, make a scary long blade, make a mess, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

