leather work on the scabbard

Once the wood was completed, I began the leather work.

I cut a piece of leather large to cover the scabbard.

pinned

pinned

I marked the center line and pinned the one side of the leather to the center line. I pulled the leather around tight and cut it so it barely touched the other edge

thumbtacks

thumbtacks

I had to use thumbtacks because pins were not holding well enough.

marked it and cut

marked it and cut

When I pulled the leather over and tight, I pressed on the seam with a pencil to leave a mark. I then opened it back up and cut the leather with scissors or a razor knife

baseball stitch

baseball stitch

I stitched the seam together with a baseball stitch using two needles, like I have talked about in a past blog post. I left the tip for last.

the handle end

the tip

I stitched towards the tip, and pulled it tight, and stitched a little more. You will have to experiment on how to make your tip the neatest that you can manage. It takes some patience.

tip

tip

This is the backside completed.

backside

backside

And here is the front.

front

front

A few shots of the tip.

front side tip

front side tip

And the back side of the tip.

back side of the tip

back side of the tip

baseball stitch

baseball stitch

I had to pull the leather up a little and keep it damp while I stitched so I could stretch it to close the gap. I also applied barge cement to the wood before I wrapped it in leather.

Now the basic part of the leather work is complete. Next steps are the fancy leather work.

Go ahead, make a mess, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

