Wood work for the fancy scabbard

So we made an aluminum sword with the intents of making a fancy leather scabbard for it. See the past blog posts on how I crafted the sword.

The next step is the make the wooden part of the scabbard. I laid the blade on a piece of 3/4″ thick pine and traced around the blade shape. I gave myself just a tiny bit of extra space so the blade would not bind. Once the shape was drawn, I cut a groove in the wood with a wood router, about half the thickness of the blade.

groove

groove

I traced the groove onto a piece of paper for a pattern. I used the pattern to mark the other half. I cut that groove out as well. I held them together and slid the blade in to ensure it fit. Adjust as necessary. Once it fit, I ran the pieces through the table saw to make the wood thinner.

the tip

the tip

You could always just start with thinner wood. Once I had the groove in both pieces, I marked about 1/4″ clearance all around the groove. I cut this shape out with the scrollsaw. You can see the final part above in the tip photo.

I added glue

I added glue

I added glue to the parts that touched when the two halves go together.

two halves

two halves

So, two pieces of wood with a groove cut into them. When put together they make a shell that fits around the sword blade. There are several ways to actually do this. If you don’t have a router, just take flat pieces of wood and glue tiny strips of wood in place as a riser, then glue the pieces together. You could also do this with a chisel by hand if you wanted to.

glued up

glued up

The pieces are glued up and taped in place.

The wood is still thick, and needs to be shaped. The sword slides in and out easily. This wood will get wrapped in fancy leather before we are done. Stay tuned.

Go ahead, make a mess, make a wooden sword scabbard thingy, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

