aluminum sword

I wanted to craft a fancy sword scabbard out of leather, but first I needed a sword.

So, I bought a piece of aluminum.

flat bar

flat bar

It was about $15 US.  I drew the sword design on the bar.

bar

bar

I would cut the metal with a jigsaw and a metal blade

handle design

handle design

This is not a real sword, just a lightweight film prop.

tip

tip

Once the blade part was cut out, I hammered the edges down some to give it some shape.

The guard took a little more work. It is actually real steel. I had to put it in the forge and hammer it to shape. That little square hole takes forever to cut. I start with drill bits, and then hand files. This part is one of the hardest things to accomplish without big fancy machines.

guard

guard

The guard slides in place. It was glued in place with two part epoxy.

guard in place

guard in place

Two pieces of wood were glued around the handle and then clamped up.

clamped up

clamped up

This wood will be shaped to a nice handle shape.

guard in place and handle wood

guard in place and handle wood

Once the wood was dry, I shaped it with a coarse wood rasp and a sander. Next step will be to cover the handle with leather.

Go ahead, make a mess, make a fake sword film prop, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

