my shop

People ask me all the time, “how can you make so much stuff?”

Well, the part of the answer is a messy shop.

shop

shop

I always have 5 or 6 projects running at the same time. In the above photo, you can see a flying airship, a steampunk rifle, and an airship bridge control panel. When one project gets stalled, I shift over to another one that is on the workbench.

IMG_5772

This is the other side of the above image. My leather quiver parts are being worked on there with the glue and the cutting tools.

IMG_5773

So, I have a lot of tools to use, but one of my biggest assets is my ability to work in the chaos.

main workbench

main workbench

I just don’t have time to keep everything super neat and organized. I know where everything is, and work alone in the shop, so I don’t need to work around anyone’s needs.

cutting

cutting

I always run out of flat space. The image above is my table saw covered with cardboard so I can glue, dye, and cut leather. I never have enough space.

The main point here, is you do not need a perfect work space to create cool stuff. You don’t even need to be perfectly neat or organized.

Just create stuff in the space you have.

Go ahead, make a mess, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

