Archery quiver

My hero needed an archery quiver. My friend Meri wanted one as well.

So I crafted one from leather. I made a cylinder shape from leather, hand sewed up the side, then made my best guess for the shape of the bottom. Hand sewed that part in to make the basic quiver. All of you know how to cut and sew leather by now, because you read my earlier blogs dealing with leather work.

Once I had the basic shape, I wanted to make it a bit fancy.

pattern

pattern

I place a piece of brown paper near the top of the quiver and cut it so it fit nicely. Once I had the proper sized paper band, then I hand drew some designs on it.

quiver with band

quiver with band

The basic quiver is there for you to see. This seam goes in the back of the quiver.

finished pattern

finished pattern

The pattern was finally finished. I used sharpie, ball point, and crayons to show what I wanted to stay. I made sure when I cut out the leather, it would remain one piece of leather.

leather piece

leather piece

I trace the pattern onto a piece of leather, then very carefully, cut it out with a razor knife. Once it was cut out, I dyed the whole piece black.

glued and pinned

glued and pinned

I used slow setting leather glue and lots of pins to get it in place. It wasn’t really easy to do. I still had to go back and touch up some spots that were not glued well.

pins

pins

The black showed up pretty good against the brown.

finished

finished

The finished piece looks pretty good. The spaces could have been a bit wider, and there are some glue stains on it, but overall not bad. I scraped the glue off later with a knife.

3 feet test

3 feet test

Three feet away it looks great.

I made another smaller band for the bottom using the exact same steps as before.

my new quiver

my new quiver

I added straps, which are not totally done yet, but in the above photo you can start to see what it will look like finished. The whole quiver was distressed with oil, sawdust, and sandpaper to give it some age.

Go ahead, make a mess, make a quiver, have some fun.

2 responses to “Archery quiver

  1. Perfect for the month of Cupid! This prop looks excellent, really nice age patina and leatherwork, Castlegardner!

    Like

  2. thank you very much shelley, long time no see. Hope you are doing well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

