fake arrows

I needed a quiver of fake arrows for my hero.

I happened to pass by an archery store so I went in and looked around. I realized real arrows were $2-$4 each, so not super bad, but I thought I could do a little better.

Then I found on the shelf, fletching feathers in a bag.

fletching

fletching

That bag was about $10. They are real feathers that are already split in half for arrow making. They also sell a double stick tape that they use to install the feathers, but that seemed like too much money for the tape. So, I bought the feathers and headed home.

I cut a single feather into three parts, which is enough for a single arrow. The first piece I tried super glue. It worked ok, but not super great.

super glue

super glue

It held ok, but kinda took awhile to set up. Next I tried barge cement, which I had left over from my leather work. And it worked great.

barge cement

barge cement

The wood is just a piece of wood dowel.

a few minutes

a few minutes

After a few minutes, my first arrow was done. I would later sand off that yellow paint on the end, and carve a notch for the bow string.

fake arrow

fake arrow

So, yes, this is a fake arrow, but in all reality, it probably would fly pretty well.

my new quiver

my new quiver

There is resting in my new leather quiver I just finished. I will talk about that in a later post.

So, I plan to make quite a few more once I have some more dowels. And I may darken the dowel wood up a little.

Go ahead, make some fake arrows, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

