Pipe

I crafted a pipe for my dwarven hero.

I sculpted a dragon claw holding a pipe bowl in clay. I covered the clay sculpt with a few coats of liquid latex. Once it was dry, I peeled it off, and removed the clay. I poured plaster into the latex mold to make the bowl.

pipe bowl

pipe bowl

plaster

plaster

quick and simple

quick and simple

Once it was completed, I shaped a piece of wood for the handle. The pipe is decorative, and doesn’t need to function.

handle and paint

handle and paint

I glued the wooden handle in place, and then painted it all.

dwarf table

dwarf table

I distressed wood with some stains.

with some real chain mail

with some real chain mail

Taking photos of your fake props next to some real props sometimes makes them a lot more believable. The chain mail is real copper from rings I made. I guess I need to teach you how to make chain mail now.

So, there you go, a simple little pipe that looks great on film.

Go ahead, make a mess, smoke it up, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

