black knight helm

To make my helmet for my black knight, I started with some metal that I salvaged from an old water heater.

start

start

I found a pattern online, I traced the pieces onto metal sheets and cut out the pieces. I used nuts and bolts to hold it together temporarily.

finished and painted

finished and painted

Once it was finished, I spray painted it black and red. The nuts and bolts were replaced with rivets. Each rivet is a nail that has been cut short. The nail head stays on the outside, and the cut part on the inside is hammered down like a real rivet. This is the same way a traditional helm would have been crafted.

red and black

red and black

I had to paint it red and black instead of just silver because my salvaged metal was already painted white and it would not come off.

closeup

closeup

in the shop

in the shop

I have only made three helmets total. Each one gets a little cleaner and better looking. They are not easy. It takes a lot of cutting, and hammering to shape them. The rivets are fun to put in, but they also take a lot of small hammer blows. You will be surprised how heavy these feel on your head. I think the real ones were padded with cloth and leather.

Go ahead, make a mess, have some fun.

Leave a Reply

