Finally some computer stuff

So, I have made my lists, and began my storyboards. I have used lots of pen and paper. Now it is finally time to do some computer work. I know for example that my thieves will meet up at the beginning of the film at the thieves’ guild. So, I now begin collecting images from the internet. I do some searches and find any image that might have something that could be used as inspiration for a “thieves guild” location.

thieves' guild

thieves’ guild

Any image I find online that will offer any guidance on what it would look I right click and save.

thief meeting

thief meeting

An image may show characters, or the location or may even help me figure out the camera view for the shot.

thief talk

thief talk

Once I save a few, I begin to get an idea of how it will look in my own film.

meeting

meeting

I won’t copy any of these exactly but these images will help me build sets, position the characters, and set up the camera views.

hundreds

hundreds

I save all the images in a folder properly named. Like for this example, I would create a folder under the main film folder, named “thieves guild”. Sometimes I collect several hundred images for a single shot, prop, or costume idea. I usually keep these forever and can always use the same images for a film later in the future. I have collected thousands and thousands of images in my time. This is an activity that is great to do when you have no sunlight to craft props or shoot any footage. This gives you stuff to do on your film while you are sitting at the computer.

Go ahead, make a mess, have some fun.

2 responses to “Finally some computer stuff

  1. You sure are organized!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alicia DR Hankins

    I’ve started a morgue file for other purposes after seeing your ideas for this and filming. I love books as resources, but who has space for all that right? I love this idea, thanks for sharing! I’m putting it to good use.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

