Storyboards

Once I have a basic story put together I begin my storyboards. I use a 3 ring binder and lots of pen and paper. I place a single camera shot on a single sheet of paper. I draw a simple rough box in the top right hand corner of the sheet. I draw simple stick men cartoon figures to show what is going on in the shot.

three ring binder

three ring binder

I keep the drawings simple and focus more on showing what is going on. I try to draw it the way the camera should see it.

storyboard close up

storyboard close up

I add any notes that I think will help the viewer figure out what is going on in the shot. This is not the time for super detailed artwork. Show what is needed to establish the action and keep it simple.

another storyboard

another storyboard

The pages allow me to pull out a shot, take it to the set, film it, and then replace the paper. It allows you to see the action, even if you are wearing a mask, are messy, in bright sunlight, etc. You don’t have to worry about any issues you might find with an electronic version of the storyboard. Drawing out the storyboards by hand also feels more creative and keeps me more in touch with the film. There will still be tons of time left on other activities to use a computer.

 

Go ahead, make a mess, have some fun.

One response to “Storyboards

  1. Ooh… Nice way to do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

