Don interview (redone from long ago to fix some issues)

1 What hand tools and power tools do you have access to?
A: I don’t have much but the basic essentials, more tools for sculpting than anything else. I do have a cordless drill, a dremel with a cutoff wheel (somewhere), a hack saw with five blades for different materials, a vise, various C-clamps of different sizes, screw drivers…

2 Where do you buy your supplies locally?
A: I get all of my art materials at some store near Portland, OR.

3 Have you ever bought any supplies online and what?
A: I have bought alumaloy armature wire from Marc Spess’s AnimateClay online store.

4 What is your favorite/standard puppet construction?
A: Definitely clay; it’s the easiest and most friendly method. It’s also very painstaking and headache-inducing. I’ll take the good with the bad.

5 What camera and software setup do you use?
A: Panasonic PV-GS300 camcorder connected to PC via firewire running Stopmotion Pro 6 SD.

6 What is one of your biggest weaknesses in animating or studio setup? How do you deal with this?
A: GRAVITY! If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll see that I’ve had several false (well, fall, actually) starts. I think I’ve got a handle on things now, though.
Keeping the surface detail consistent over several weeks of shooting is also a tricky one. If the armature is bad, then the sculpture is bad too.

7 What is one of your biggest strengths or assets, and how do you utilize this?
A: Definitely audio, but the animation is really progressing fast. I think I’m a pretty decent photographer as well. As far as sound, I’ve spent almost 10 years learning it
and implementing a non-traditional way of mastering a recording one track at a time as it’s being recorded. This is a proven method, and I teach it to anyone who is
patient enough, so if you want to get set up recording in your own space, give me a buzz!

8 What about this process do you enjoy the most?
A: I love the tactile nature of stopmotion, and I guess my memory is starting to crap out, because often times I’ll watch a finished shot and not remember animating it!

9 Name some goals you have in this field.
A: My primary goal is to move on from retail sales and do something in this field. I’ve spent most of my life learning about it, so I might as well be working in some department or other.
I’m willing to start at the very bottom and work up, if that’s what it takes.

10 Write and answer your own final question.

A: Okay,

10: “Hey , now that you’re starting to get noticed on Youtube for your short films and clips, do you have any plans to stay humble?”

A: Of course!

Don C.

Leave a Reply

