Leevi Lehtinen (Leevi) interview

1 What hand tools and power tools do you have access to?
Dremel kit, power drills + unnumerous handtools

2 Where do you shop locally for your parts?
Mostly from hardware and art supplies shops.

3 Have you ever bought any supplies online and what?
Anything that I’m able to get cheaper than from local shops. Cameras,
clays etc. Also items that are only available overseas, i.e.
armatures.

4 What is your favorite/standard puppet construction?
I buy ball and socket joints. Then build the armature myself. Stuff
the puppet with light material, can be clay or foam. Finally sew
clothes and sculpt super sculpey heads and hands. I use replaceable
faces and hands.

5 What camera and software setup do you use?
Nikon D70 + spycam. I’ve used numerous softwares. Depending of
availability. For my next project Adobe Suite and Stopmotion Maker
hdmi. I might change to Canon 40D.

6 What is something you know that you think others here may not?
I maybe have more knowledge of photography than average animator, as I worked as a photographer for several years before changing into
animation.

7 What is one of your biggest strengths or assets, and how do you utilize this?
Probably the photographic skills. I do my own light and photography set up.

8 What about this process do you enjoy the most?
The feedback after film premiere.

9 What would be a great compliment on your work?
Entry acceptance to a film festival.

10 Why do I animate on two’s?
I don’t aim for a perfect flow of movement, but personal expression
and character developement. I’ve found out that I’m able to express
the feelings of the puppets better, with fast workflow of shooting on
two’s. When I shoot on one’s I need to concentrate more on the
movement and less to the mind of the puppets. I don’t say that
animating on two’s is better than on one’s, but it works for me.

thanks Leevi.

Leave a Reply

